Wednesday, November 18, 2015

The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart

The Five Times I Met Myself PKTo the worldwide customers who flock to purchase Black Fedora coffee, Brock Matthews, the brother behind the unique, top-selling blends is a coffee success.  But Brock knows differently; despite the money, the push to help their coffee growers and the fame their generosity has brought, he senses there are cracks to his life.  First there is the failed relationship with his father that was never healed before his father's death: then there is an unspoken, almost unacknowledged jealousy that his father made his younger brother CFO and chief stockholder, not himself.  And now, with his son ready to leave for college, Brock has to face what he has known for awhile, that his marriage has "lost the wind in its sails."   When he begins to have a recurring dream in which his fathers seems to be warning to prepare himself for a disaster, Brock knows something bad is going to happen and shares his fears with longtime friend Morgan.  Morgan gives Brock a book about lucid dreaming -- dreaming in which you know you are in a dream and suggests that Brock could approach his father and try to get him to share just what he wants Brock to do.  Brock reads the book and gives the technique a try, but not before he learns that Black Fedora is about to go under due to some illegal pilfering of funds and that his wife wants a separation.

Throughout the book, Brock meets himself several times in dreams, each time asking his younger self to do one thing -- something Brock feels will fix the present. Each time when Brock wakes, he finds that the present has been altered.  What he has wanted done, has been done, but the "new present" is never what he expected or wanted.  I started this book after a full afternoon of shopping with my husband.  I expected I would read a few chapters during the evening and then set it aside for a good night's sleep.  Our granddaughter was going to sleep over and I knew I would spend the whole next day playing games with her.  And to be truthful, I wasn't to sure if I would like the book once Brock started altering the past.  But I kept reading and reading, and by the time bedtime came around, I got E. settled in and told hubby that I would be reading for a while before I came to bed.  By 12:30 I had finished the entire 381 pages.  There was simply no place where I could stop and not spend restless time wondering what was going to happen to Brock.  Each new present day seemed more disappointing, almost dangerous, then ... Well, I can't have spoilers, can I? I highly recommend this book.

If we are honest, we would all confess that we've longed for "do-overs."  We have things we wish we had made right; we focus too much on past mistakes, or we dream that if we'd only made some different choices life would be peachy.  Well, Brock gets do-overs, but he keeps avoiding the one thing he can't face, and the lesson for all of us seems to be that if we want a future, we must face our failures, our fears HERE IN THE PRESENT.   I received a copy of THE FIVE TIMES I MET MYSELF from LITFUSE for my honest review.  

I am sharing a press release about THE FIVE TIMES I MET MYSELF and James L. Rupart.Seattle: It will help you understand the power of the novel which goes way beyond simple entertainment.

What if you met your 23-year-old self in a dream? What would you say? No matter how young or how old, there’s a part of us all that wishes we could go back and tell ourselves what we should have done differently. It’s a desire award-winning author James L. Rubart explores in his new novel, The Five Times I Met Myself (Thomas Nelson/November 10, 2015/ISBN: 978-1401686116/$15.99). 
Rubart’s strength of teaching life lessons within the context of story shines in this new release that will appeal to fans of Andy Andrews and Mitch Albom. The author introduces readers to Brock Matthews, whose once-promising life is now unraveling. There is tension in nearly every one of his relationships, and with his son soon leaving for college he’s forced to confront the gaping gulf that lies between him and his wife. His successful company, where he’s found so much of his sense of identity and fulfillment, is suddenly on the rocks. He’s at a loss for how to deal with the pressures he’s facing, when one night he encounters himself as a young adult in a vivid dream. When he learns he might be able to change his past mistakes, he jumps at the chance but soon finds that while the results are astonishing, they’re also disturbing. 
For Brock, getting what he wants most in the world will force him to give up the one thing he doesn’t know how to let go. In The Five Times I Met Myself Rubart examines the role of dreams in our lives and raises the question of whether or not they’re sometimes much more than just our subconscious minds working out the events of the day. 

Pointing to Scripture that shows God uses dreams to speak to his people and even shape significant events, Rubart admits he takes his own quite seriously. “In the Old Testament Joseph had dreams that changed all of Egypt,” Rubart explains. “I believe God is still using dreams to change the lives of his children.” While we do not get the opportunity to change our past through a dream, Rubart believes redemption, restoration, and freedom can still come for our past choices and regrets. The Five Times I Met Myself encourages readers to ask themselves difficult questions about their choices and where their future is headed, while affirming that change and, ultimately, redemption are available to all, despite regrets and mistakes. Andy Andrews, the New York Times bestselling author of The Noticer and The Traveler’s Gift, has described The Five Times I Met Myself as life-changing. Rubart reveals that was precisely his hope when he sat down to write. “I don’t think it’s ever too late to start living with freedom. I don’t think there’s any brokenness God can’t breathe healing and life into. I’ve had people say my books are not fluffy reading, but that they stick with people months and years afterward. I hope that’s true. I want my stories to seep into people’s minds and, more importantly, their hearts and help them step into greater freedom
  

No comments:

Post a Comment