Friday, October 4, 2013

Winter of Wishes by Charlotte Hubbard

If you like love at first sight (beyond all odds)  and happy endings, then you enjoy Charlotte Hubbard's latest book Winter of Wishes, part of the Seasons of the Heart series which follows the many challenges of  the Amish Sweet Seasons Cafe, its owner Miriam Lantz and her daughters.  As the book opens, daughter Rhonda is experiencing a new feeling - loneliness.  Her twin sister has married and started her new life, plus mother Miriam will be remarrying and moving into a new residence in just a few weeks.  Suddenly, the fact that twenty year Rhonda  has no beaus on the horizon seems a little more ominous. Quickly, Rhonda shakes herself out of thoughts of becoming an "old maid", telling herself she just needs a new challenge.  Perhaps, a job independent of the cafe and her mother.

And that is how Rhonda ends up working for Andy Leitner as a housekeeper to his two young children and his mother, who is recovering from a stroke.  Instantly, the entire family warms to Rhonda and her simple ways.  Andy credits her with turning his house into a home again, pondering how she accomplished so much it seems simply with an apron, a mixing bowl, a batch of cookies and a pot of soup.  But when Andy arrives home late from an extended shift at the hospital and drives Rhonda home himself, unchaperoned,  then kisses her, Rhonda is for the first time in her life torn between two worlds.  Her heart tells hers she has done nothing wrong, but her bishop says otherwise.
Will she need to confess before the whole church?  Will she shunned? Will she need to leave behind the English family she cares so much about?

This series would be a nice stocking stuffer gift for those who enjoy Amish romance.  I would definitely include Summer of Secrets and Autumn Wishes because those stories include some surprises that pull the series together.  Whenever I read Amish fiction, my radar is buzzing, constantly comparing their actions and thoughts to what I see in my own Amish neighbors.  In almost all books, I find significant differences to what I know as Amish life.  I've come to just accept these inconsistencies and tell myself I am reading FICTION for fun. So I recommend this series, although I would never expect anyone to base their understanding of the Amish on the details in this book!  I was given a copy by Pump Up Your Book for review purposes.  Thanks Tracee for getting me the copy!  All opinions are mine


I am part of the Pump Up Your Book Tour for this book.  Check out the other reviews and enjoy a short interview with the author.  Please note some dates on this list (including mine) may not be accurate.

Winter Wishes Virtual Book Publicity Tour Schedule

————————————————————
Monday, September 16
Book reviewed at A Year of Jubilee Reviews
Interviewed and 1st chapter reveal at My Devotional Thoughts
Tuesday, September 17
Book reviewed at Teaberry Cottage
Interviewed at Raven Reviews
1st chapter reveal at Mom Loves 2 Read
Wednesday, September 18
Book reviewed at Book Him Danno
Book featured at 4 the Love of Books
Thursday, September 19
Book reviewed at Reviews from the Heart
Friday, September 20
Book reviewed at Lighthouse Academy
Tuesday, September 24
Book reviewed at Griperang’s Bookmark
Wednesday, September 25
Thursday, September 26
Book reviewed at All Grown Up
Book featured at Literary R&R
Friday, September 27 
Guest blogging at Shhh…Not While I’m Reading
Monday, October 7
Book reviewed at My Devotional Thoughts
1st chapter reveal at 4 the Love of Books
1st chapter reveal at Read 2 Review
Tuesday, October 8
Book reviewed at Books and Needlepoint
Wednesday, October 9
Book review, Interview and Guest blogging at Melina’s Book Blog
1st chapter reveal at Literary R & R
Thursday, October 10
Book reviewed at Thoughts From Mill Street
Book review and Interview at splashesofjoy
Friday, October 11
1st chapter reveal at Authors and Readers Book Corner
Thursday, October 17
Book reviewed at Literary R&R
Friday, October 18
Guest blogging at 4 the Love of Books
Monday, October 21
1st chapter reveal at Thoughts in Progress
Friday, October 25
Book reviewed at Mary’s Cup of Tea

ABOUT CHARLOTTE HUBBARD

Charlotte-HubbardI’ve called Missouri home for most of my life, and most folks don’t realize that several Old Older Amish and Mennonite communities make their home here, as well. The rolling pastureland, woods, and small towns along county highways make a wonderful setting for Plain populations—and for stories about them, too! While Jamesport, Missouri is the largest Old Order Amish settlement west of the Mississippi River, other communities have also found the affordable farm land ideal for raising crops, livestock, and running the small family-owned businesses that support their families.
Like my heroine, Miriam Lantz, of my Seasons of the Heart series, I love to feed people—to share my hearth and home. I bake bread and goodies and I love to try new recipes. I put up jars and jars of green beans, tomatoes, beets and other veggies every summer. All my adult life, I’ve been a deacon, a dedicated church musician and choir member, and we hosted a potluck group in our home for more than twenty years.
Like Abby Lambright, heroine of my Home at Cedar Creek series, I consider it a personal mission to be a listener and a peacemaker—to heal broken hearts and wounded souls. Faith and family, farming and frugality matter to me: like Abby, I sew and enjoy fabric arts—I made my wedding dress and the one Mom wore, too, when I married into an Iowa farm family more than thirty-five years ago! When I’m not writing, I crochet and sew, and I love to travel.
I recently moved to Minnesota when my husband got a wonderful new job, so now he and I and our border collie, Ramona, are exploring our new state and making new friends.
You can visit her website at www.CharlotteHubbard.com

1 comment:

  1. Thanks so much for your insightful review! You are exactly right: my Amish stories are FICTION, and don't necessarily reflect what might really happen in any given Amish colony!

    ReplyDelete